In 2013, I Will Do All of the Things

Two years ago, I didn’t know how to boil an egg. I’m being literal here – I actually had to Google it. I’d baked a little before that, and I’d mixed together some guacamole, but that was about it.Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 9.47.59 AM

Now, I make things. Still very, very easy things, but I can brown meat and boil veggies. It’s something.

I have a sneaking suspicion that my two-year transformation into a (sort of) responsible adult who pays bills on time and cooks dinner will look like a three-toed sloth’s journey from tree to tree by the end of this year (I’m reading Life of Pi right now – forgive the animal references).

This is the year when I will do all of the things. In order:

1. I will launch something cool for work. I’m a writer/producer for new media production company Bright Red Pixels. We do cool things and we will be launching something cool (and timely, for me) in March.

2. We hope to buy a house (where we live now, in Nashville). Trying to go FHA and trying to do it before April, for many confusing reasons.

3. We will finish writing our musical. We have to be done by May and REALLY done by July,Keep Calm because a theater in Florida is producing it then. My husband will be down there directing it starting in May, and I’m planning on being there a bit at the beginning and the end. If my calculations are correct, I’ll be about 7 months pregnant by the time the show goes up. 7 months pregnant in Florida in JULY helping put up a show that I helped write. GEAHHHHHH!

4. Sometime in there, if number 1 works out, we will move.

5. (maybe) We will help my mother-in-law move to Nashville.

6. I will have a baby. I think this will happen sometime in September. GEAHHHHH!

7. I will finish my young adult novel. This one gets the Most Likely to Not Happen award, although the house is a close second. I really like the book, though. I hope I finish.

8. WE WILL HAVE A BABY. This is about the aftermath. The actual having/enjoying/not sleeping of the baby.

9. I will try to start losing the weight.

10. We will take the baby down to Florida. They got the preview in July, now it’s time for the real thing. My husband’s huge family lives down there, so we want to have some show-and-tell baby time in December.

11. I will begin training for the half-marathon that I didn’t run this year (blame Ziggy!)

So, by the end of this year, I expect to look 30 years older and walk with a limp, but I also expect to be happier than I’ve ever been. We’ll see how it goes…

One Comment on “In 2013, I Will Do All of the Things”

  1. […] we moved. Yes, we are slowly checking off all of the things on our do-all-of-the-things list. We bought the house, and now we’re here. We decided to move on Saturday, when Nashville […]


Leave a Reply

