I Will Try To Give Myself a Break

I see a theme developing here…

I know I’m not alone in worrying about my weight, but it’s nice to have a little happy-go-lucky article about it to keep me warm on this Valentine’s Day.

Wendy Korn posted said article on fitpregnancy.com today: “Learn to Love Your Pregnancy Body“. It’s full of positive stuff from people who sound like they know what they’re talking about. I felt particularly comforted by the woman who, at 9 weeks (which is where I’m at), can’t fit into her jeans.

On the other side of it, I have a friend in her second trimester who has gained FOUR POUNDS. She’s already feeling uncomfortable and bemoaning the weight gain (because she’s “already mouth-breathing”). She has been eating healthy, but as far as I know, hasn’t actively been trying to avoid putting on the pounds. I would like to punch her in the face.

Weight_Tape_Measure_Web

I am not eating healthy. Chips (baked or reduced fat) have replaced my spinach salads as a side dish, and I have a little dessert every night. Sure, they’re the WW/Skinny Cow variety of dessert, but it’s still food.

See? I have to qualify everything! What am I so afraid of? I EAT THINGS.

But I’ve linked to this article so that I can remember to trust my body. And, while I won’t be wearing bikinis like the author suggests (because that’s just uncomfortable for everyone), I won’t be ashamed of my bump. The pounds I gain in my face, my legs, and my already enormous arms… well, I’ll try to go easy on that, too.

lena dunhamI suppose this is an appropriate moment to mention that Lena Dunham is my hero. Last week’s episode of Girls was wonderful and the controversy around it (that it’s ridiculous to think someone like Patrick Wilson would want to bone someone like Lena Dunham) just proves that none of this is in my head. I was really nervous/uncomfortable when she first kissed the Wilson, because of how I’ve spent my life thinking about myself and my body. I would never have kissed him, because I wouldn’t have wanted to see the nausea on his face. But she wasn’t worried about that, nor should she have been. Nor should I have been in not-really-similar situations I’ve had in my past.

I really want to learn to be ok (‘love’ is a bit strong) with my body, and maybe this pregnancy is a good place to start (with a weekly reminder from Lena Dunham). Those 1D images of models in magazines – I’m not going to lie, those are beautiful images. But they’re not ALL there is to beauty. And I’m not really aiming for beauty, anyway. I just want to be confident in who I am and not feel like a monster if I want to wear shorts.

If you’re interested, this is a great post from Kate Spencer about what Lena Dunham’s nudity means to her. You should be interested. It’s really excellent.

2 Comments on “I Will Try To Give Myself a Break”

  1. bev says:

    Please enjoy your pregnant body–it really is beautiful. It doesn’t matter what you weigh!! This is not the time to even think about dieting!

  2. Nosey says:

    Does this mean more cookies for me!? Yay!


Leave a Reply

