I Will (Attempt to) Cloth Diaper Ziggy

Over the weekend, I went to a Cloth Diapering 101 class, because it was free, short, and close by at this adorable bio-friendly shop called The Green Wagon.

The woman who led the class runs (surprise) the only cloth diaper service in Nashville, Smile Mommy (I’m trying overlook the name). She mentioned it at the beginning of class and didn’t push the sell too hard. The more people who cloth diaper in general, the better it is for her business. And again, the class was free.

After the initial shock of pre-folds and liners and all-in-ones and pockets and… I started to think that maybe I could do it. I think this is good, because I actually went in thinking I could do it, got discouraged by the demo, then bucked back up by the end of the class.cloth-on-cloth

I know this might sound idiotic to six-months-from-now-Amanda, but it seems like there isn’t much difference between cloth diapering and disposable diapers. Yes, there are two steps to putting on the diaper (if you do the pre-fold/cover thing), but when you take it off, you put it in a pail, same as a disposable. Instead of taking the crap in the pail out to the trash along with the other 50 million plastic diapers that go out every day to decompose for as many as 500 years, it goes into the washing machine.

It’s not that simple, of course. The washing process takes longer than the disposing process, plus there’s all the water/energy that process takes, but I don’t know, I think it might be worth it.

Smile Mommy (ugh) is, of course, fuxpensive – $35/week for the infant package – but they give you all the stuff you need, plus you don’t have to worry about the wash. I figure a month of the service might be worth it to see if cloth diapering is for us. That way, we avoid buying all the cloth swag only to find out we hate every second of it. I’d be interested to see how this price compares to disposables during the first month…

And if cloth diapering is a no-go, if I come to hate the feel of cotton even against my own skin, I’m not going to let myself see it as a failure. I’ll just put it into my ever-expanding hypocrite file. I eat meat, I use paper towels as napkins, I read books made from trees, I use writing pads constantly, I can’t stand the smell of patchouli… I’m not green. I’m not even the lightest shade of green. I AM lazy. And cheap.

If I can do this one thing to avoid contributing to the third-largest source of waste in landfills (soon to be second once newspapers are extinct), I will. If I can do this thing that seems to be better for Zig (not much diaper rash, more comfortable), I will. But I’m not going to stress out about it. I will have PLENTY to stress out about.

[In my research about this stuff, I ran across the elimination communication movement (read: infant potty training). This seems like a magical dream land where babies poop in toilets and unicorns read them to sleep, but if it works, I’m all for it. Seems like you’d have to be attached to your baby all the time to make it work, though. Thoughts?]

Leave a Reply

